Updated: 07/04/12 : 08:09:47
Printable Version   Bookmark and Share Share This


Sligo Rovers 11-A-Side Astro Turf League - Week 26

THERE WAS was only one game last week in the Sligo Rovers 11-A-Side Astro Turf League but it was a crunch one in terms of the title race in Division One.

Reigning champions Sligo Plumbing & Heating took on Gannon & McNamara Electrical Limited. Last year these two sides were locked in a tight battle for the Packie McGowan Memorial Cup with S.P.H. eventually winning by two points.

This season has seen a collapse in form by S.P.H. and they are heading for a mid-table finish. Gannon & McNamara though are a side in form and they are keen to add to the Socrates Healthcare Informatics Cup that they won earlier in the season.

Gannon & McNamara started the better with both Darren Kelly and Conor O’Grady going close with long range strikes although neither hit the target.

S.P.H. then nearly caught them on the counter as Michael Walsh played in Anthony Henneberry whose shot drifted narrowly wide of the post. Gannon & McNamara then took the lead. Kiki O’Grady then played a simple ball over the top when came to Kelly and while the S.P.H. shouted for offside he calmly picked his spot in the corner. Minutes later and it was two. Graham Kelly with a run down the right and he whipped it a dangerous ball across the face of the goal where it was turned into the net by Darren Kelly. Just before half-time and they made it three. Liam McCarrick set up Kiki O’Grady who shot high into the roof of the net.

The second half saw an improvement in form from S.P.H. and they nearly got themselves back into the game when a good move saw Tommy Clarke link up with Mark Cunningham to play in Barry Sheerin but his effort was saved by Mark Rooney in the Gannon & McNamara goal. Rooney was called into action again with ten minutes to go. Paul Keaveney had a shot that was saved and the former Merville United man reacted well to keep out Cunningham’s rebound. That 3-0 win means that Gannon & McNamara are now eleven points behind Fiddler’s but they do have two games in hand.

Don’t forget you can catch up with all the latest reviews and reactions from the action in the League on our Youtube channel, just search for Sligo Rovers Astro TV.





Glen Shannon (Fiddler’s Creek), Colin Burke (Riverstown) – 9

Barry McLoughlin (Fiddler’s Creek), Johnny Kenny (Riverstown) – 7

Mark Rooney (Fiddler’s Creek) – 6

Eric McMorrow, Darren Kelly (Gannon & McNamara) – 5

Noel McKenna (Riverstown), Michael McNamara, Michael Walsh (S.P.H.), Kevin
Donnegan (G.S.S.) – 4

Graham Kelly, David Martyn, Darren Kelly (Gannon & McNamara), Lee Marshall
(Fiddler’s Creek), Rory Guinan (G.S.S.), Daniel Hargadon (Riverstown), Colm
Kelly (Abbott Ireland) – 3

Mark Butler (Gannon & McNamara), Anthony Henneberry, Philip Gallagher,
Paul Keaveney (S.P.H.), Conor Jordan (G.S.S.), Liam Conroy, Vinny Boyd, Mark
Tuohy, Keith McMorrow (Riverstown), Conor Scanlon, Darren Adams (Abbott
Ireland), Stuart Farren, Gary Fallon (P.S.O.), Ian Rossiter (Fiddler’s Creek) – 2

Gavin O’Dwyer, Jim Sheridan (S.P.H.), Trevor Sweeney, Glen Hargadon, Daniel
Lang, Keith Hennessy, Graham Tiernan, Jeff Gillen (P.S.O.), Packie Callaghan,
Paul Masterson, Darren Kelly, Gerry McGowan (Fiddler’s Creek), Sean
Potter, Frank Quinn, Chris Richardson, Owen O’Donohoe (Riverstown), Jason
McGuinness, Finbarr Smith (Abbott Ireland), Dermot O’Connor (G.S.S.), Paddy
Conlon, Mark Rooney, Kiki O’Grady (Gannon & McNamara) – 1


Daniel McDonagh (Killanaskully Wanderers) – 13

Brendan Lowry (Hargadon’s) - 11

Neal Hayes (SRFC Reserves) – 10

Kevin Egan (SRFC Reserves) – 9

Jason McNulty (Killanaskully Wanderers) – 8

Trevor McGuinn (Coolaney Celts) – 7

Peter Toner, Chris Pyton, Shane Feeney (Lang’s Bar) – 5

Brian Murphy, John Cooke, Barry Mullen (Killanaskully Wanderers), John Farrell
(Hargadon’s), Peter McGowan (Lang’s Bar), Marcin Targosnski, Declan Benson
(Durkin’s Pub) – 4

Paul Clarke (Durkin’s Pub), Micheal O’Domhnaill, Alan Williams (SRFC
Reserves), Martin Farrell, Ollie Brady (Coolaney Celts) – 3

Azad Orang (Coolaney Celts), Alan Williams, Niall O’Hara (SRFC Reserves),
Archie Forde, Colm McGee, Brendan Gannon (Killanaskully Wanderers), Paul
O’Reilly, Adrian Petit, Daniel Furey, Tomas O’Flaherty, Eamon Bruen (IT Sligo),
Shane Campbell, Paul Powell, Gary Canny (Hargadon’s) – 2

Damien McSharry, Ronan O’Hara, Andy Logue, Aaron Walsh (Hargadon’s),
Gencho Disher, Barry Kilcoyne, Paul Seevers (Killanaskully Wanderers), Philip
O’Donnell, Damien Kelly, Gerard Watters (Lang’s Bar), Neil Jones, Dan Leydon,
Neil Honeyman, Ollie Brady (Coolaney Celts), Kenneth Appleby, Nigel Durkin,
Justin Corrigan, Daniel Chester, Marek Paluskiwicz (Durkin’s Pub), Ciaran
Brennan, Alan O’Dowd, Mark McGillen (SRFC Reserves), John Joe O’Reilly (IT
Sligo) – 1

*League Goals Only



Sligo Rovers 11-A-Side Astro Turf League Results

Tuesday 3rd April

Division One

P.S.O. P Fiddler’s Creek

Sligo Plumbing & Heating 0 – 2 Gannon & McNamara Electrical Limited

Wednesday 4th April

McCullagh Carpentry Division Two

Coolaney Celts P SRFC Reserves, 7pm

Friday 6th April

Division One

Abbott Ireland P Gannon & McNamara Electrical Limited

McCullagh Carpentry Division Two

Durkin's Pub P Lang’s Bar

Killanaskully Wanderers P Hargadon’s (Calry)



Sligo Rovers 11-A-Side Astro Turf League Fixtures

Tuesday 10th April

McCullagh Carpentry Division Two

Killanaskully Wanderers vs. Hargadon’s Calry, 8pm

Durkin’s Pub vs. Lang’s Bar, 9:10pm

Wednesday 11th April

McCullagh Carpentry Division Two

Coolaney Celts vs. SRFC Reserves, 7pm

Division One

P.S.O. vs. Fiddler’s Creek, 8:10pm

Abbott Ireland vs. Gannon & McNamara Electrical Limited, 9:15pm

There are no fixtures on Friday 13th April due to Sligo Rovers vs. Derry City
game in the Showgrounds

Tuesday 17th April

Division One

G.S.S. vs. Abbott Ireland, 8pm

P.S.O. vs. Gannon & McNamara Electrical Limited, 9:10pm

Wednesday 18th April

McCullagh Carpentry Division Two

Durkin's Pub vs. Hargadon’s (Calry), 7pm

IT Sligo vs. Coolaney Celts, 8:10pm

Lang’s Bar vs. Killanaskully Wanderers, 9:15pm

Friday 20th April

Division One

Abbott Ireland vs. Sligo Plumbing & Heating, 7pm

Fiddler's Creek vs. P.S.O., 8:10pm

Gannon & McNamara Electrical Limited vs. Riverstown, 9:15pm