Updated: 23/04/12 : 10:16:53
Printable Version   Bookmark and Share Share This


Sligo Rovers 11-A-Side Astro Turf League (Week 27)

All of the action last week in the Sligo Rovers 11-A-Side Astro Turf League was in the McCullagh Carpentry Division Two with Killanaskully Wanderers and Hargadon’s (Calry) continuing their battle for the league title and with it promotion to Division One. First up in action were Hargadon’s who were
taking on Durkin’s Pub.

The first ten minutes of the game were very even with Durkin’s containing the Hargadon’s attack well. That all changed though in the 11th minute as Kenneth Appleby turned a Brendan Lowry cross into his own net.

Hargadon’s ruthlessly capitalised on this as Lowry scored two more before half-time to give his side a 3-0. With the points secured Hargadon’s eased up in the second half although Lowry did complete his hat-trick with the best goal of the week. He scored with a beautifully struck half volley from an acute angle on the right side of the box.

Durkin’s were then reduced in number when Paul Clarke was sent off for dissent and their misery was further compounded when Chris Donaghy added a fifth for his side with five minutes to go. The scoreling would have been higher but for the efforts of Durkin’s keeper Glen Ballintyne. That put pressure on Killanaskully in their game against in the in form Lang’s Bar.

They showed their mettle though as they raced into a 2-0 lead thanks to a brace from their top scorer Daniel McDonagh. The first of which was a penalty. Further goals from first John Cooke and then Barry Murphy gave them a 4-0 win. This means that Hargadon’s are five points behind Killanaskully but they do have a game in hand. For the Tubbercurry side they know that if they win their last game
of the season against Coolaney Celts then they will be crowned champions.

Coolaney are out of sorts as well as they were beaten 1-0 by IT Sligo. David Lally with the games only goal in the first half.

Don’t forget you can catch up with all the latest reviews and reactions from the action in the League on our Youtube channel, just search for Sligo Rovers Astro TV.




Glen Shannon (Fiddler’s Creek) – 11

Colin Burke (Riverstown) – 9

Barry McLoughlin (Fiddler’s Creek) – 8

Johnny Kenny (Riverstown), Mark Rooney (Fiddler’s Creek) – 7

Eric McMorrow, Darren Kelly (Gannon & McNamara) – 5

Noel McKenna (Riverstown), Michael McNamara, Michael Walsh (S.P.H.), Kevin
Donnegan (G.S.S.), Graham Kelly (Gannon & McNamara) – 4

David Martyn, Darren Kelly (Gannon & McNamara), Lee Marshall (Fiddler’s
Creek), Rory Guinan (G.S.S.), Daniel Hargadon (Riverstown), Colm Kelly, Conor
Scanlon (Abbott Ireland) – 3

Mark Butler (Gannon & McNamara), Anthony Henneberry, Philip Gallagher,
Paul Keaveney (S.P.H.), Conor Jordan (G.S.S.), Liam Conroy, Vinny Boyd, Mark
Tuohy, Keith McMorrow (Riverstown), Darren Adams (Abbott Ireland), Stuart
Farren, Gary Fallon (P.S.O.), Ian Rossiter, Packie Callaghan (Fiddler’s Creek) – 2

Gavin O’Dwyer, Jim Sheridan (S.P.H.), Trevor Sweeney, Glen Hargadon, Daniel
Lang, Keith Hennessy, Graham Tiernan, Jeff Gillen (P.S.O.), Paul Masterson,
Darren Kelly, Gerry McGowan (Fiddler’s Creek), Sean Potter, Frank Quinn, Chris
Richardson, Owen O’Donohoe (Riverstown), Jason McGuinness, Finbarr Smith
(Abbott Ireland), Dermot O’Connor (G.S.S.), Paddy Conlon, Mark Rooney, Kiki
O’Grady, Conor O’Grady (Gannon & McNamara) – 1


Brendan Lowry (Hargadon’s) - 16

Daniel McDonagh (Killanaskully Wanderers) - 15

Neal Hayes (SRFC Reserves) – 10

Kevin Egan (SRFC Reserves) – 9

Jason McNulty (Killanaskully Wanderers) – 8

Trevor McGuinn (Coolaney Celts) – 7

Peter Toner, Chris Pyton, Shane Feeney, Peter McGowan (Lang’s Bar), Brian
Murphy, John Cooke, Barry Mullen (Killanaskully Wanderers) – 5

John Farrell (Hargadon’s), Marcin Targosnski, Declan Benson, Paul Clarke
(Durkin’s Pub), Martin Farrell (Coolaney Celts) – 4

Micheal O’Domhnaill, Alan Williams (SRFC Reserves), Ollie Brady (Coolaney
Celts) – 3

Azad Orang (Coolaney Celts), Alan Williams, Niall O’Hara (SRFC Reserves),
Archie Forde, Colm McGee, Brendan Gannon (Killanaskully Wanderers), Paul
O’Reilly, Adrian Petit, Daniel Furey, Tomas O’Flaherty, Eamon Bruen (IT Sligo),
Shane Campbell, Paul Powell, Gary Canny (Hargadon’s), Darragh Currid (Lang’s
Bar) – 2

Damien McSharry, Ronan O’Hara, Andy Logue, Aaron Walsh, Chris Donaghy
(Hargadon’s), Gencho Disher, Barry Kilcoyne, Paul Seevers (Killanaskully
Wanderers), Philip O’Donnell, Damien Kelly, Gerard Watters, Noel Herrity
(Lang’s Bar), Neil Jones, Dan Leydon, Neil Honeyman, Ollie Brady, Gavin Fox
(Coolaney Celts), Kenneth Appleby, Nigel Durkin, Justin Corrigan, Daniel
Chester, Marek Paluskiwicz (Durkin’s Pub), Ciaran Brennan, Alan O’Dowd,

Mark McGillen, Charles Murphy (SRFC Reserves), John Joe O’Reilly, David Lally
(IT Sligo) – 1

*League Goals Only


Sligo Rovers 11-A-Side Astro Turf League Fixtures

Tuesday 24th April

Division One

Sligo Plumbing & Heating vs. Riverstown, 8pm

Fiddler’s Creek vs. P.S.O., 9:10pm

Wednesday 25th April

McCullagh Carpentry Division Two

Durkin’s Pub vs. Coolaney Celts, 7pm

IT Sligo vs. Lang’s Bar, 8:10pm

Hargadon’s (Calry) vs. SRFC Reserves, 9:15pm

Friday 27th April

No Fixtures due to Sligo Rovers vs. St. Patrick’s Athletic


Sligo Rovers 11-A-Side Astro Turf League Results

Tuesday 17th April

Division One

G.S.S. 3 – 0 Abbott Ireland

P.S.O. P Gannon & McNamara Electrical Limited

Wednesday 18th April,

McCullagh Carpentry Division Two

Durkin's Pub 0 – 5 Hargadon’s (Calry)

IT Sligo 1 – 0 Coolaney Celts

Lang’s Bar 0 – 4 Killanaskully Wanderers

Friday 20th April

Division One

Abbott Ireland 0 – 3 Sligo Plumbing & Heating

Fiddler's Creek P P.S.O.