Updated: 17/10/16 : 05:18:46
Printable Version   Bookmark and Share Share This


Cathaoirleach Award winners hosted by Marian Harkin MEP in Brussels

Winners of the Sligo County Council Cathaoirleach awards were among the delegation from Sligo who attended a volunteering conference in Brussels organised by Independent MEP Marian Harkin on Wednesday October 12th.

One of the highlights of the conference was a presentation from Sligo on its plans to celebrate its award of European Volunteering Capital for 2017.

The event was attended by volunteering interests from across the EU and the Sligo delegation included Cathaoirleach of Sligo County Council, Hubert Keaney, Mayor of Sligo, Marie Casserly and manager of Sligo Volunteer Centre, Ciara Herrity.

Representatives of the city of London, which currently holds the European Capital of Volunteering designation, detailed the events they had coordinated during the year while Hubert Keaney, Marie Casserly and Ciara Herrity gave a pen picture of Sligo to the audience and an outline of events to be held during 2017 when Sligo will be the European Capital of Volunteering.

Cathaoirleach award winner, Bartley Gavin, also gave an account of the Sligo Fleadh Ceoil 2014 & 2015 and outlined the hugely important contribution of over 2000 volunteers to the running of this wonderful event.

Pictured at the event L-R: Michael Keane, Ocean Links; David McCoy, Strandhill, Michael McEnroe, Strandhill; Hubert Keaney, Cathaoirleach, Sligo County Council; Marian Harkin MEP; Mayor Marie Casserly; Cathal O’Donaill, Standhill Rd and Francis Fidgeon, Sea Rd.

Pictured at the event L-R: John Banks, Collooney; Sally Ann Kelly, Collooney; Sr Goretti McGowan, Ballybane, Galway; Saoirse Eireann Foley, Cranmore; Rory Foley, Cranmore; Marian Harkin MEP; Jane Foley, Cranmore and Mayor Marie Casserly.

Pictured at the event L-R:  Margaret McConnell, Larkhill Rd; Hubert Keaney, Cathaoirleach, Sligo County Council; Bartley Gavin, Larkhill Rd.,  Mayor Marie Casserly; Marian Harkin MEP; Larry Mullin, Ballinode and Joyce Lyons, Collooney.