Updated: 28/10/16 : 07:27:08
Printable Version   Bookmark and Share Share This


Sligo Tidy Towns elects new Chair

The Annual General Meeting of Sligo Tidy Towns  was held in the Glass House Hotel on Monday 24th October 2016.

There was a large attendance which included 18 members of Sligo’s Junior Tidy Towns Committee. There were representatives from Sligo Grammar School, Summerhill College, Mercy College, Ballinode College and the Ursuline College.

The outgoing Chairman, Jim Lawlor addressed the audience and his speech covered many of the developments which had occurred during his three year term in office. He thanked all of the volunteers and his management team.

He emphasised the success which follows on from taking a partnership approach to developing Sligo and thanked Sligo County Council, and the many Residents Associations who took pride in their estates.
The incoming Chairman, Peter Tiernan then addressed the meeting and he thanked Jim Lawlor for helping to ensure a very smooth transition to the position of Chair for him.

Mr Tiernan went on to say, "I am following in the footsteps of some very committed people, such as our outgoing Chairman, Jim Lawlor, and several others before that, including his predecessors. The Tidy Towns was restarted some years ago by “Blooming Sligo” led by people like Tess Monaghan, Rhona McGowan and Des McConville. This was followed by the Tidy Towns, chaired by Gerry Moore, and succeeded by Des Faul.  

"Jim Lawlor  in particular is going to be a very hard act to follow. His energy and enthusiasm for the job is legendary. He has developed a wide range of contacts in Sligo and elsewhere, and has got a diverse group of people involved in the Tidy Towns range of activities. That’s something that will be of great benefit to myself as in-coming Chairman, and to the Tidy Towns team."


Mr Tiernan continued, "A Tidy Towns movement is more dependent on co-ordinators and volunteers that any other organisation. We are lucky in Sligo to have a good team of committed people, and I look forward to working with them. I would like to announce at this point that our next Vice-Chairman, who is taking over immediately, is one of our hard working team members, John Kielty. 

The new chairman also asked the owners of business premises and property to continue to keep their surroundings clean and tidy and for people who live in the town and suburbs to contribute by keeping their areas tidy.

  Some of those attending the Sligo Tidy Town's Annual general Meeting at The Glasshouse Hotel

Mr Tiernan added, "The Sligo Chamber of Commerce who are behind us all the way, and provide us with our central office at no cost. The Sligo Business Improvement District, who are very pro-active in furthering the interests of the town, Sligo Credit Union, who made a substantial donation towards the Yeats Trail, the Sligo Park Hotel who hosts our monthly meetings free, as well as several other people who quietly sponsor materials and other services, without any recognition. Finally, I would like to say a sincere thank you to our Local Authority, Sligo County Council.

"You cannot buy goodwill and co-operation, and this is where the County Council is invaluable to us."