Updated: 31/10/16 : 08:08:07
Printable Version   Bookmark and Share Share This


First Sligo musician in 46 years to win 'Fiddler of Dooney'

The Sligo branch of Comhaltas Ceoltoiri Eireann hosted the annual Fiddler of Dooney competition this weekend in the Methodist Hall, Wine Street, Sligo.

The competition which was inaugurated 51 years ago in 1965 is one of the oldest and most prestigious instrumental competitions in the tradition and is inspired by the W.B Yeats poem of the same name.

According to Cllr Declan Bree on Facebook, "The role of previous winners reads like a who’s who of traditional fiddling and includes Matt Cranitch, Cathal Hayden, Brid Harper, Liz Kane, Paddy Glacken, Seamus and Manus McGuire. Last year’s winner was Sarah O’Gorman."

The Junior competition was held on Saturday while the senior competition was held on Sunday.

"Congratulations to Jason McGuinness on winning this year’s Fiddler of Dooney competition. Jason is the first Sligo musician to take the prestigious trophy since 1970 when it was won by another celebrated Sligo musician Manus McGuire."