Updated: 07/11/16 : 05:19:13
Printable Version   Bookmark and Share Share This


Feighan passes on Sligo Dáil chance

SLIGO PROPERTY owner Frank Feighan will not be a local Dáil candidate for Fine Gael next time out.

The former TD from Boyle was nominated to the Seanad earlier this year by Taoiseach Enda Kenny.

That move was viewed as a major surprise; Feighan had retired from the Dail and then decided not to contest the 2016 Seanad elections.

Last summer rumours circulated in Fine Gael in Sligo that Feighan would seek a Dail nomination here at the next election.

Senator Feighan owns a number of houses in Sligo town, according to his most recent declaration filed in the Oireachtas Register of Members Interests.

Open Office

Yesterday, 'The Sunday Business Post'  confirmed that Senator Feighan has his eye fixed on a Dáil comeback.....in Roscommon.

''I'll rule nothing in or out,'' he told the newspaper: ''That's the approach I will take.''

The comment follows his decision last month to open a constituency office in Roscommon town.

Provide Service

Said Feighan yesterday: ''All I want to do is provide a service in Roscommon town, which is why I have opened a constituency office.

''I think we need to have a service for people in the constituency.''

However, the move is seen as a direct challenge to senior Government Minister Denis Naughten, an independent.

Naughten resigned from Fine Gael over its broken 2011 election promises and closure of services at Roscommon County Hospital.

Feighan defended that decision and claims he suffered vilification as a result.

Meanwhile, Sligo Today understands that long serving TD John Perry will seek a Dáil return at the next election.

Just over 12 months ago he was dramatically deselected at the FG party convention.

Junior Minister

The former junior minister then took Fine Gael to the High Court.

Equally dramatic to his convention defeat, the senior Government party caved in during the court challenge and agreed to reinstate Perry on its ticket.

However, the Ballymote TD's 19 years run in the Dail came to an end with his defeat in the February 2016 general election.