Updated: 28/02/17 : 05:57:10
Printable Version   Bookmark and Share Share This


Sligo striker bagged the game's only goal for Republic of Ireland u18

After a 4-0 win over the Welsh at Bala Town on Tuesday Jim Crawford’s side won 5-0 on aggregate to bring home the trophy, which was introduced for this annual fixture last year.

Merville United striker Jordan Muldoon bagged the game’s only goal in the 23rd minute and the Irish defence held firm to deny their opponents a way back into the tie.

Ballincollig’s Jason Hogan has a chance to open the scoring in the 11th minute but failed to hit the target then Muldoon sent in a stinging drive that just failed to find the top corner in the 16th minute.

Muldoon found the net with a low finish to the Welsh keeper’s bottom right corner to take the wind out of the Welsh sails after they had got off to lively start.

Daniel Grant burst through in the 31st minute and his effort was blocked by keeper Iwan Roberts and Hogan’s follow up struck the base of the Welsh upright.

Irish keeper Daniel Houghton did well to deny Cameron Keetch a 34th minute equaliser then Hogan spurned an opportunity to make it 2-0 in the 41st minute when he was sent through on goal and rounded keeper Roberts but failed to find the target.

Aron Hughes Jones had a powerful strike from a free-kick pushed away by Houghton in the 53rd minute then Grant produced an excellent strike for the Irish which Roberts did well to tip over in the 62nd minute.

Jordan O‘Reilly looked dangerous for Ireland upon his introduction as substitute and had an effort just off target in the 66th minute then Mikey Friel burst through in the 88th minute and was unfortunate to see his low strike whistle narrowly wide.

“We were very pleased with the outcome of the two games here in Wales this week and I believe that the players have had a hell of a lot of learning crammed into a short space of time,” said Crawford.

“The players stuck to the match objectives and to keep two clean sheets and score five goals across the two games was testament to the work that they put in.

REPUBLIC OF IRELAND: Daniel Houghton, Tom McCarthy, Leon Hayes, Dylan Fleming, Arron Legget, Greg Barrett, Karl Fitzsimons, Jordan Muldoon, Daniel Grant, Jason Hogan, Eoin Hunter. Subs: Ethan Hurley for Hunter 46 mins; Jordan O’Reilly for Hogan 55; Adam Kenny for Houghton 55; Lee Jordan for Muldoon 61; Mikey Frield for Hayes 61; Tomas Collins for Barrett 76; Matthew Barrett for Grant 81. Photo: Frances Muldoon