Updated: 07/04/17 : 15:27:51
Printable Version   Bookmark and Share Share This


New Wild Atlantic Way Champions for Sligo

Almost 20 tourism trade from Sligo are among the first Wild Atlantic Way Champions of 2017 after completing the Fáilte Ireland initiative.  A specifically tailored programme designed by Fáilte Ireland, the Wild Atlantic Way Champions Programme is for front line staff to enhance their knowledge of what the Wild Atlantic Way has to offer and provide excellent service to overseas visitors.


Congratulating all those receiving the honour, Eva Dearie from Fáilte Ireland’s Wild Atlantic Way team said –


“The Wild Atlantic Way Champions Programme was designed to help tourism businesses improve the visitor experience they currently provide. Using local knowledge and being aware of what the Wild Atlantic Way can deliver to overseas visitors will, we believe, go a long way towards ensuring visitors stay longer, experience more and most importantly, recommend the Surf Coast to family and friends when they return home.”

The new ‘Champions’ all received an official certificate and specially commissioned badge to acknowledge their participation in the initiative.


How to get involved?

The Sligo programme marks the beginning of a series of Wild Atlantic Way Champion Programmes which are scheduled to take place along the Wild Atlantic Way over the coming months.  For further details Jackie Burns, Fáilte Ireland, by emailing Jackie.burns@failteireland.ie

List of Recipients


Wild Atlantic Way Champions Workshop

Riverside Hotel

Aoife McElroy

Fáilte Ireland

William Britton

Northwest Adventure Tours

Christina McGarry

Glachamara B&B

Eithna O'Sullivan

Eithna by the Sea

Rosemary Kitchin

Secret Gardens Sligo

Louise Gilmartin

Sláinte Ireland Tours

Dessie & Mary Caraway

Herdsman’s House

Mary Coggins

Glen View

John Barrett

Wild Wet Adventures

Grainne McLoughlin

Breeogue Pottery

Sean Larkin

Sligo Choral Festival

John Feighney

Beezies Sligo Self Catering Cottages

Brenda O'Callaghan

Cos Cos Festival

Ailish Murphy

Riverside Hotel

Michael Connolly


Ursula Schweiger 

Island View Riding Stables

Phyl Foley

Leitrim County Council