Updated: 18/05/17 : 05:38:33
Printable Version   Bookmark and Share Share This


Ballygawley Celtic are Champions

Ballygawley Celtic are the Champions of the Andrew Mullen Sligo Pallets Premier League after an epic encounter on Forthill with MCR.

Ballygawley Celtic needed at least a draw to clinch the title and recent games against MCR have been nip and tuck.

The Leitrim Observer reports that MCR took the lead through sharp shooter Ciaran Harvey and were looking good but Ballygawley Celtic kept pressing and were rewarded with a cracker from Peter Murray that in the end proved to be a gem of a strike as the game ended all square and Ballygawley Celtic commenced their celebrations.

Arrow Harps were on fire at Riverstown, hitting Merville United for four Andy Flynn scoring twice with Darragh Hailstones and Colin Harte each scoring once. Merville Unitedís only goal was scored by the ever-alert Conor Cox.

This result sets up a great battle between MCR and Arrow Harps that will decide the runners up spot what a game that will be.

In the North-West Hospice Cup Semi Final, a goal from Roland Anderson after ten minutes gave Ballisodare United a massive victory away to neighbours Aughanagh Celtic.

This booked The Boys from Ballisodare United into the Final on Saturday June 10, where their opponents will be the winners of the Manor Rangers versus Carbury game what a final that promises to be.

In the North-West Hospice Cup Semi Final, a young Dromore Villa went down by the odd goal in three against Real Tubber. Matthew Mulhern was the hero for a delighted Real Tubber scoring twice.

Real Tubber will walk out in the final on Saturday May 27, at the Ray Mac Sharry Park against either Cliffoney Celtic or Sligo town side MCR whcih promises to be yet another fabulous final to look forward to.