Updated: 04/10/17 : 12:39:21
Printable Version   Bookmark and Share Share This


€2.2 Million in Funding Allocated to 25 Towns and Villages in Sligo and Leitrim

Fine Gael T.D. for Sligo - Leitrim, Tony McLoughlin, has today announced that €2.2 Million in Government funding has been allocated to the Sligo – Leitrim Constituency by Minister for Rural and Community Development, Michael Ring T.D., under the 2017 Town and Village Renewal Scheme.

McLoughlin stated that “Sligo and Leitrim’s allocations under this scheme were amongst the three highest allocations in the country.

“The 2017 Town and Village Renewal Scheme, which was launched in April of this year, focus on local projects which can help to enhance and develop our rural towns and villages, with a particular emphasis on stimulating economic development.

Key part

In total 281 rural towns and villages across the country are set to benefit from over €21 million in funding under the 2017 Town and Village Renewal Scheme.  The scheme is a key part of the Government’s Action Plan for Rural Development. See link below

In Sligo, €1,063,968 has been allocated to 14 towns and villages, including €196,000 for Coolaney, €60,000 for Ballisodare, €80,000 Ballymote, €100,000 €Tubbercurry, €77,600 Carney, €80,000 Strandhill and Ransboro, €80,000 Easkey €76,000 for Carraroe and € 80,000 Rosses Point.

In Leitrim, €1,098,538 has been allocated to 12 towns and villages including €100,000 for Ballinamore, €100,000 for Carrick-on-Shannon, €200,000 for Drumshanbo, €96,000 for Cloone, €60,000 for Dowra, €100,000 for Dromahair, €45,000 for Kinlough, €75,000 Leitrim Village, €100,000 for Manorhamilton, €100,000 Mohill and €98,000 for Roosky.

The allocation of €21 million by the Minister Michael Ring under the Town and Village Renewal scheme follows the roll out earlier this year of a range of other initiatives to support rural Ireland, including the CLÁR scheme, the Outdoor Recreation Infrastructure scheme and the Local Improvement Scheme of which Sligo and Leitrim.

Link: Sligo Today 4/10/2017