Updated: 30/10/17 : 07:37:27
Printable Version   Bookmark and Share Share This


Fiddler of Dooney title back in Sligo

CAOIMHE KEARINS won the Fiddler of Dooney competition yesterday afternoon, Sunday.

She becomes only the fourth Sligo musician to win the title in the past half century.

Yesterday’s final was held in the Methodist Hall, Wine Street — hosted by Sligo Live and the Sligo Town Branch of Comhaltas Ceoltoiri Eireann.

Inspired by the WB Yeats poem of the same name, the Fiddler of Dooney competition was inaugurated in 1965.

It is now one of the oldest and most prestigious instrumental competitions for the fiddle.

Top Players

Some of Ireland’s top fiddle players, north and South, have been winner in that time.

These include Paddy Glackin, Matt Cranitch, Liz Kane and Cathal Hayden, Seamus and Manus Maguire.

Sligo Live and the local CCE have been hosting the competition since 2006.

Winners since then include: Tara Breen 2006, Laura Beagon 2007, Bronwyn Power 2008, Aoife Ni Bhriain 2009, Rhona Lynch 2010 and Niall Murphy 2011.

Other winners were: Lucia McPartlin 2012, Lydia Warnock 2013, Darragh Curtin 2014, Sarah O’Gorman 2015 and Jason McGuinness 2016.

Caoimhe’s family is steeped in Irish traditional around the Sligo area.

Her grandfather, the late Tommy Collis, served on the Sligo County CCE Board for many years.

Caoimhe Kearins is pictured above with Cllr Declan Bree, an officer of Sligo Town Comhaltas.