Updated: 03/11/17 : 07:09:36
Printable Version   Bookmark and Share Share This


Sligo journalist wins national award

In a ceremony in Dublin’s Mansion House yesterday several journalists - including Sorcha Crowley from The Sligo Champion - received recognition in the 2017 NewsBrands Ireland Journalism awards.

The overall journalist of the year award was won by Catherine Fegan of the Irish Daily Mail and the Irish Mail on Sunday, while the crime correspondent of the Irish Daily Star, Mick O’Toole, won two awards for his work on the Irish connections of London Bridge attacker Rachid Redouane.

A special award for investigative research was presented to historian Catherine Corless for her work uncovering the existence of hundreds of bodies of infants buried at the old mother and baby home in Tuam, Co Galway.

The chair of the judging panel for the awards, Matt Dempsey, said the standard of the 1,400 entries received was higher than ever before, and that even to get nominated meant “you must be a very talented journalist”.

This year’s awards were sponsored by the National Lottery, whose chief executive, Dermot Griffin, told the audience that a free media was an essential part of a democratic society.

Sorcha Crowley was awarded Regional Journalist for 2017.

The full list of awards;

Business Journalist: Jack Horgan Jones – The Sunday Business Post

Business Story of the Year: John Meagher – Irish Independent

Broadsheet Columnist of the Year: Fintan O’Toole – The Irish Times

Popular Columnist of the Year: Lynda McCarthy – Sunday World

Crime Journalist of the Year: Michael O’Toole – Irish Daily Star

Crime Story of the Year: Michael O’Toole – Irish Daily Star

Critic: Patrick Freyne – The Irish Times

Digital Excellence: The Irish Times Abroad – Ciara Kenny – The Irish Times

Features (Popular): Catherine Fegan – Irish Daily Mail

Regional Journalist: Sorcha Crowley – Sligo Champion

Features (Broadsheet): Conor Lally – The Irish Times

Foreign Journalism: Ruadhán Mac Cormaic – The Irish Times

Front Page: Irish Daily Mirror ‘What Have They Done’

Headline: Irish Daily Star ‘Quarter Pounder with Sleaze’

Investigative Journalism: Michael O’Farrell – Irish Daily Mail

News Analysis: Daniel McConnell & Fiachra O’Cionnaith – Irish Examiner

News Reporter: Conor Feehan – The Herald

Political Journalist: John Lee – The Irish Mail On Sunday

Political Story: Ellen Coyne – Ireland Edition of the Times

Scoop of the Year: David Labanyi – The Irish Times

Sports Writer of the Year: Malachy Clerkin – The Irish Times

Sport Story of the Year: Martin Breheny – Irish Independent

Showbiz Journalist: Ken Sweeney

Showbiz Story: Nadine O’ Regan – The Sunday Business Post

Young Journalist: Niall O’Connor – Irish Independent

Journalist of the Year: Catherine Fegan – Irish Daily Mail

Special Award for Investigative research: Catherine Corless