Updated: 09/11/17 : 05:30:44
Printable Version   Bookmark and Share Share This


Sligo hospital wins Group Staff Recognition Award

Sligo University Hospital - Winner at Saolta University Health Care Group Staff Recognition Awards
The 3rd Saolta University Health Care Group Staff Recognition Awards took place recently in the Ardilaun Hotel Galway and Sligo University Hospital was presented with the award for the development of Anaesthesia App.

The hospital was also shortlisted in the categories of Research, Education and Training and Innovation - Clinical Area.
Over 145 projects or initiatives from services and departments across all of the hospitals in the Saolta Group were nominated in seven different categories.

Winners were presented with their awards by Saolta Group CEO Maurice Power and Group Director of Nursing and Midwifery Jean Kelly.

Maura Derrane, Maurice Power, Selene Daly, Marian O'Boyle, Patricia Scanlon, Jean Kelly

Commenting, Grainne McCann, General Manager, Sligo University Hospital said, “These awards provide an opportunity to recognise and celebrate the contribution and achievements of staff delivering services in the hospital across areas of patient care and education and research. We are delighted that four projects were shortlisted for these Staff Recognition Awards.

"These projects were the Simulation Training Programme, Anaesthesia Smartphone App, Dermatology research in sunbed usage and Medex@ IT Sligo, a community based exercise programme with the Physiotherapy Department and Sligo IT".
This is the third year of the Saolta University Health Care Group Staff Recognition Awards which aims to recognise and reward excellent staff performance, promote a sense of pride and reinforce the Saolta University Health Care Group as an excellent place to work. 

  Maura Derrane, Maurice Power, Grainne McCann, Jean Kelly, Therese O'Connor, Bruno Biancardi

Applicants from across the Group’s hospitals were invited to participate in seven categories. 145 entries were received and these were shortlisted to finalists in each category by an independent judging panel.

The winners were announced on the evening by event host Maura Derrane at an event attended by the finalists. The Saolta Staff Recognition Awards is self-funding from sponsorship received.