Updated: 29/11/17 : 18:08:56
Printable Version   Bookmark and Share Share This


Three Sligo students awarded a JP McManus All Ireland Scholarship

Three Sligo students have been awarded a JP McManus All Ireland Scholarship toward their third level education. The awards ceremony took place on Saturday 25th November at the University of Limerick where Minister of State for Higher Education.

They are, Laura Fletcher, from St Attracta's Community School now attending Glasgow Caledonian University, Olivia Lipsett from St Attracta's Community School now attending NUIG and Tom Murray from St Nathy's College now attending UL.

Mary Mitchell-O’Connor, TD., presented the awards. Special Guest at this year’s Awards Ceremony was Irish President, Michael D. Higgins.

This is the tenth year of the Scholarships, which are sponsored by JP McManus. A total of 125 students from both North and South of Ireland were presented with a third level scholarship certificate. Sponsored by JP McManus, the scheme is set to provide financial assistance to many high achieving students who completed their Leaving Certificate in 2017.

Olivia Lipsett, who attended St. Attracta’s Community School in Ballyara and is now studying Medicine in NUIG, was one of this year’s winners, “It’s incredible, I really can’t believe it. Without the Scholarship and JP McManus’s generosity, I wouldn’t be able to do half of what I wanted to do and my future is far brighter, thanks to him.” she said, “I want to continue to work hard in my course and in the future, volunteer abroad and take part in Summer research projects.”

                          St.Attracta's Community School Student Olivia Lipsett

JP McManus has contributed €32 million to fund the provision of these scholarships each year and it is estimated that over 1,300 students from the 32 counties will benefit from the scheme over its duration. The awards are administered by the Department of Education & Skills and Department of Education in Northern Ireland.