Click on any image to enlarge

TALENTED :: A Sligo student has been presented with a top award in this years 62nd Texaco Childrens Art Competition. Pictured is Mairead Conway (13), a pupil at St. Attractas Community School, Tubbercurry, who won a Special Merit Award in the competition. Presenting her with the award is James Twohig, Director Ireland Operations of Valero.

PETITION :: James Connolly Heron, (L) grandson of 1916 hero James Connolly, showing his support for the petition to ask the Minister for justice to rescind the deportation order on Jimmy Gralton. He is pictured with Cllr Thomas Healy, Mayor of Sligo Municipal District.

GATHERING :: Fianna Fáil General Election candidate for Sligo-Leitrim Senator Marc Mac Sharry attended the 77ú Fianna Fáil Ard Fheis at Citywest Hotel in Dublin last Saturday. Over 2,000 party members and supporters gathered under the theme An Ireland for All ahead of the forthcoming general election. Photo: Conor McCabe Photography.

UGLY :: St. Marys College take to the stage once again with a delightful and funny musical about Ugly, a duckling but it soon becomes clear that he is no ordinary duck. The musical will be performed at the Hawk’s Well Theatre on Monday the 2nd and Tuesday 3rd November at 8pm and there will also be a matinee for schools on Tuesday the 3rd of November. Please support this funny and at times emotional show.

VISIT :: Independent MEP Marian Harkin hosted a visit for constituents at the European Parliament in Brussels. Pictured on the occasion were (L to R): Anne McCaffrey, Cartron Point; Brid Fox, Kilmacowen; Mary Harkin, Carraroe; Marian Harkin MEP; Patricia Cawley, Geevagh and Frances Farry, Sligo Town.

SCHEME :: The discrimination which 3,900 young farmers have encountered in accessing entitlements under the EU Single Payment Scheme was discussed with Independent MEP Marian Harkin at the National Ploughing Championships in Ratheniska. Pictured on the occasion were (L to R): Tom Egan, Vice Chairman, ICSA Beef Committee; Kenneth O Brien, Glenamaddy, Co. Galway, Forgotten Farmers Organisation; Independent MEP Marian Harkin and Ger Grehan, Chairman, Roscommon ICSA.

HEIGHTS :: Local business owners in Sligo scaled new heights when a group of 27 intrepid networkers climbed Knocknarea Mountain for a networking meeting with a difference. The Yeats BNI group who were named BNI Chapter of the Year in May come from a broad range of business backgrounds including a hotelier, construction and an accountant. The group networked their way to the top before holding their weekly meeting at the summit. Photo: Frances Muldoon

DELEGATION :: A delegation from Conradh na Gaeilge held discussions in the European Parliament in relation to the status of the Irish language in the European Union. The delegation was led by Conradh Assistant General Secretary Peadar MacFhlannchadha (front left), who is pictured with Marian Harkin MEP, Sean Kelly MEP and Mairead McGuinness MEP and the members of the delegation.

RACING :: With the final race of the Sligo season approaching a team of Wexford fence builders are busy at Sligo Racecourse ensuring all is ready for Student Day on Wednesday 30 September. Pictured are (l-r) Dan Kellis, Brian O Keeffe and contractor Jim Murphy. Photo:

CREDIT :: At a reception to mark the 50th Centinery of Sligo Credit Union were (l-r) Laura White, Collette Hamilton, Donna Caufield and Orla Lee. Photo: