Category: sport
Updated: 07/03/18 : 13:47:05

IT Sligo FC first team win Rustlers CFAI Plate Final

The team en route to the final
IT Sligo FC first team has won the Rustlers CFAI Plate Final after beating GMIT Galway 3 – 1.

The squad members were in high spirits after the match which took place yesterday on Tuesday, 06 March.

The team will also play against Limerick IT in the Rustlers Division 1 Final next Monday, 12 March at the FAI headquarters in Abbottstown, Dublin.

A win in the upcoming match will see IT Sligo FC return to the College & Universities Football Premier League.

The team made the Division 1 final after beating Blanchardstown IT 5 – 4 on penalties after a 1 – 1 extra time draw in the semi-final playoff.

Many of IT Sligo’s players in the squad are on the Institute’s Sports Scholarship Programme which helps talented student athletes reach their sporting potential.

Up to 20 new scholarships and bursaries are awarded each year under the scheme and students who are rewarded scholarships receive mentoring support, training guidance and other value-added support.

The overall aim of the scheme is to recruit, manage and develop players/athletes with exceptional ability to position IT Sligo as a premier centre of sporting performance.

Assistant Coach Darragh Healy said: "We are absolutely delighted with the win, we played against a really good GMIT team today and managed to come out on top. It is no more than the squad deserve.

“We have had a small squad of players who have worked tirelessly all year. They are such a talented group and it is a pleasure for myself and Colm Jinks [Head Coach of IT Sligo FC] to guide them along the way.

"We also owe a lot to the Sligo IT Soccer Committee who have provided us with everything we have asked for and a special mention to Colin Feehily who organises everything for us on a daily basis. We look forward to the league final next Monday against Limerick IT.”

Paul Powell, Treasurer of IT Sligo FC and member of the Scholarship Committee said:

“We are delighted that IT Sligo FC has won the Rustlers Plate Final. The team performed at their very best and we have no doubt they will do the same in the Division 1 final next week.”

For more information on IT Sligo’s Sports Scholarship Scheme please see:

Match Report by Assistant Coach, Darragh Healy:

Mervue was the venue for the CFAI Rustlers Plate final between IT Sligo and GMIT Galway on Tuesday afternoon.

Both teams started brightly but it was IT Sligo who took the lead on 13 mins when a cross into the box fell to the feet of Darren Somers who blasted home from inside the area.

On 22 mins GMIT got their equaliser when a diagonal ball was played to right winger who connected brilliantly with the ball on the volley sending it to the top corner.

Both teams pushed for a goal, but it remained 1–1 at the break.

Two mins into the second half and Sligo regained the lead when soccer scholar Gary Higgins latched onto an excellent through ball and finished across the keeper to the far corner.

GMIT piled the pressure on and had plenty of dangerous set pieces cleared from the Sligo defence.

Sligo played some fine football also and had some half chances before on 75 mins, Substitute Jack Hever wriggled his way through the GMIT defence and unleashed an unstoppable drive into the bottom corner that gave the goalkeeper no chance.

GMIT kept piling the pressure on and had some half chances but Sligo stood tall and ran out worthy winners in the end.

IT Sligo FC Squad

Ben Treanor                Mullingar, Westmeath           

Brian Kavanagh          Mullingar, Westmeath             soccer scholar

Roland Anderson        Collooney, Sligo                     soccer scholar

Conor Blaney              Letterkenny, Donegal           

Michael Gilfoy             Foxford, Mayo          

Conor Brennan           Tonaphubble, Sligo               

Niall Brennan              Ballymote, Sligo                      soccer scholar

Darren Somers           Cranmore, Sligo                    

Timmy Govorov          Bundoran, Donegal               

Jack Hever                 Ballymote, Sligo                    

Ryan Norris                 Mullingar, Westmeath           

Jason Quinn                Letterkenny, Donegal             soccer scholar

Darren Murray            Balla, Mayo               

Ryan O Reilly              Cavan Town, Cavan               soccer scholar

Gary Higgins               Ballyhaunis, Mayo                  soccer scholar